South Leeds Archers | Archery Info
Archery TypesBow Types

Target Archery

There are multiple kinds of archery, each with its own rules and methods of shooting. Target archery is the most popular form of archery, in which members shoot at stationary circular targets at varying distances. All types of bow – longbow, barebow, recurve and compound – can be used. In Great Britain, imperial rounds, measured in yards, are still used for a lot of tournaments and these have slightly different rules to metric (WA) rounds, which are used internationally. Archers are divided into seniors and juniors, with juniors being those under the age of 18
Rules & Etiquette
Since archery involves the use of potentially lethal equipment, much attention is paid to order and safety. Whistle commands are used to signal the different phases of shooting, or an 'end'. Two whistle blasts means archers can approach the shooting line. One whistle blast means archers can begin shooting. The archers are not allowed to collect their arrows whilst other archers are shooting. The signal to collect your arrows is three whistles from the field captain. These rules apply to all forms of target archery. Other rules, or points of etiquette, include: The command Fast means stop shooting immediately and return the unshot arrow to the quiver. It is used when the situation becomes suddenly and unexpectedly dangerous. Do not distract another archer when they are shooting. If an archer is at full draw, wait before taking your place on the shooting line. If an archer damages another archer's arrows (or other equipment), they must offer to pay for any damages.

Bow Types

Archery is the sport, practice or skill of using a bow to propel arrows. The word comes from the Latin arcus. Historically, archery has been used for hunting and combat. In modern times, it is mainly a competitive sport and recreational activity. There are many different types of bow to shoot with, ranging in difficulty Beginner> Intermediate> Expert/Master> Bow master/Hunter/Olimpic, each kind of bow requires a new set of skills and equipment to master it
The recurve bow is usually your first foray into the world of archery. It is a good all-rounder, with a relatively easy learning curve for beginners and go's all the way up to Olimpic setups
Difficulty Beginner Intermediate Expert/Master #Olimpic
Price Range £150 - £5000
In modern archery, a compound bow is a bow that uses a levering system, usually of cables and pulleys, to bend the limbs. The pulley/cam system grants the user a mechanical advantage, and so the limbs of a compound bow are much stiffer than those of other bows. We recermend useing Beginner bows befor useing this type of bow.
Difficulty Intermediate Expert/Master #Hunter
Price Range £180 - £3,500
A longbow is a type of bow that is tall – roughly equal to the height of the user – allowing the archer a fairly long draw. A longbow is not significantly recurved. Its limbs are relatively narrow so that they are circular or D-shaped in cross section.
Difficulty Intermediate Expert/Master #Bow Master
Price Range £80 - £1050
Tho most of us now don't shoot from horseback anymore the horse bow is still a favourite amongst archers, first developed during the Iron Age, gradually replacing the Bronze Age chariot. Horse archers were eventually rendered obsolete by the maturity of firearm technology.
Difficulty Beginner Intermediate Expert/Master #Bow Master
Price Range £50 - £850